Baker in at Judiciary as Senate Republicans name majority chairs

Baker in at Judiciary as Senate Republicans name majority chairs

Author: Stephen Caruso/Monday, January 7, 2019/Categories: News and Views

Senate Republicans named their new committee chairs Monday.

Among the biggest changes were Sen. Lisa Baker's (R-Luzerne) ascension to head the Senate Judiciary Committee with the retirement of long-time chairman Stewart Greenleaf last year.

In a statement, Baker said she looked forward to "continue the committee’s record for being productive and effective."

“The quality of justice, the fairness of state laws and policies, and fundamental access to the justice system are issues of intense public interest and spirited legislative debate," she said. "We can look at the changes in sentencing approved in recent years to see how thinking is changing about the equality and cost of justice."

Baker, in office since 2006, pointed to her push to reform juveniles' experience in the justice system as well as reforms to Parole Board hearings as experience working with the topic.

Sen. John Eichelberger's (R-Blair) retirement and Sen. John Rafferty's (R-Montgomery) surprise electoral loss opened up leadership of two key committees, Education and Transportation. Sen. Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster) will now head the former, and Sen. Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland) the latter.

A full list is below:

Aging & Youth
Sen. John DiSanto (R-Dauphin)

Agriculture & Rural Affairs
Sen. Elder Vogel, Jr. (R-Beaver)

Sen. Pat Browne (R-Lehigh)

Banking & Insurance
Sen. Don White (R-Indiana)

Communications & Technology
Sen. Wayne Langerholc, Jr. (R-Cambria)

Community, Economic & Recreational Development
Sen. Mario Scavello (R-Monroe)

Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure
Sen. Robert Tomlinson (R-Bucks)

Sen. Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster)

Environmental Resources & Energy
Sen. Gene Yaw (R-Lycoming)

Sen. Scott Hutchinson (R-Venango)

Game & Fisheries
Sen. Dan Laughlin (R-Erie)

Health & Human Services
Sen. Michele Brooks (R-Mercer)

Intergovernmental Operations
Sen. Judy Ward (R-Blair)

Sen. Lisa Baker (R-Luzerne)

Labor & Industry
Sen. Camera Bartolotta (R-Washington)

Law & Justice

Sen.Pat Stefano (R-Fayette)

Local Government
Sen. Scott Martin (R-Lancaster)

Rules & Executive Nominations
Sen. Jake Corman (R-Centre)

State Government
Sen. Mike Folmer (R-Lebanon)

Sen. Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland)

Urban Affairs & Housing
Sen. Tom Killion (R-Delaware)

Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness
Sen. Mike Regan (R-Cumberland)

Stephen Caruso is the Harrisburg bureau chief at The PLS Reporter. Have a question, comment or tip? Email him at or call at 845-891-4306.